Thursday, June 2, 2011

The Hunger Games Planned as Four Films

Source: Deadline
June 1, 2011

Gary Ross' highly-anticipated adaptation of the bestselling Suzanne Collins novel series, The Hunger Games, has gotten even more epically scaled than was originally thought. Deadline reports that Lionsgate is interested in expanding the three-book trilogy to fit four feature films.

The first film, targeted for a PG-13 rating, tells the tale of a dystopic future and the annual "Hunger Games," a fight to the death on live television. The first novel, simply called "The Hunger Games," is followed by "Catching Fire" and "Mockingjay." There is no word yet on how these titles would theoretically be applied to the film versions, but it's probably safe to assume that the subsequent book titles will be used in one form or another.

The sizable cast includes Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson, Liam Hemsworth, Wes Bentley, Elizabeth Banks, Dayo Okeniyi, Amandla Stenberg, Jack Quaid, Leven Rambin, Willow Shields, Paula Malcomson, Ian Nelson, Kalia Prescott, Ethan Jamieson, Tara Macken, Chris Mark, Jacqueline Emerson, Ashton Moio, Kara Petersen, Sam Ly, Leigha Hancock, Samuel Tan, Mackenzie Lintz, Imanol Yepez-Frias, Annie Thurman, Stanley Tucci, Woody Harrelson, Latarsha Rose, Brooke Bundy, Lenny Kravitz, Toby Jones, Amber Chaney, Kimiko Gelman, Nelson Ascencio and Donald Sutherland.

The Hunger Games is set for release on March 23, 2012.

Read more: The Hunger Games Planned as Four Films -

No comments: